|c. 1920 lockstation|
|1897 hand-operated swing bridge|
The simple Gothic church is an eye-catcher, and the plaque-reader might be enticed to tarry. Just one look down the hill across the river and we were hooked.
This village without 'un commerce' as Queensborough friend Katherine has noted, may be lacking one of the engines of prosperity, but its unspoiled beauty (but for some declining structures) and early homes still much loved by its history-aware inhabitants keep visitors coming.
|J.S.French house (1841)|
Stephen Burritt, wife Martha and brothers Daniel and Edmund arrived from Vermont in 1793. The subsequent creation of the Rideau Canal turned his bush grant into a transportation hub, and his land was subdivided into town lots. Burritts Rapids provided the first bridge across the river.
The usual rags to riches to rags story ensued, with mills, shops and services springing up.
|French's Forge - blacksmith shop|
|J.Healey grocery store (by 1853)|
|to the right, a past and future cafe|
|the exquisite c.1851 Stephen Hurd house|
|George or Edgar Burritt (later verandah)|
|early log house|
|John Muir house (c.1859) donated for a school|
|the forge (c.1869)|
|pressed metal siding and friendly signage|
|J. Strahan general store/residence (1840)|
|along Burritt's Avenue|
Another history adds telegraphic and daily mail, a bakery, a millinery shop, a tin and stove store, a grist mill, a woolen mill, a tannery, three blacksmith shops, three wagon shops, a cabinet shop, two churches, two schools and an Orange Lodge to the record of untrammeled growth of the hamlet.
|Christ Church Anglican (1831)|
In spite of all that, don't you want to go? We want to return. Wonderful house history. A tranquil place along historic Rideau Canal. Lots of nature - a park, ancient trees, a walking trail. And the experience of island life. For Burritts Rapids became an island when those intrepid canal builders hacked a safe passage around the Rideau River rapids at this location 175 years ago. Quite the pick and shovel feat.